- 5 Ways to Get Out of Jail
Citation release – Wyoming law requires that a defendant who is stopped and arrested be brought before a judicial officer within 12 hours. If that doesn’t happen, the defendant must be issued a citation for his or her offense and released from custody. The citation includes information for a court appearance and includes a promise to appear for all court hearings that the defendant must sign.
Cash bond – A defendant who has the money, or who can get the help of a co-signer, can pay the entire cost of bail to be released from jail. The money is paid directly to the court and it is returned, as long as the defendant shows up for all scheduled court hearings, minus mostly minor fines and court costs.
ROR – A release on recognizance is known as an ROR release, and it allows a defendant with no criminal record, who is not considered a risk to return for future court hearings, to be released after signing an agreement to show up in court when required. No bail is set and the defendant does not pay anything before being released from jail.
RUS – A release under supervision is more commonly referred to as an RUS release. The types of defendants chosen for this release are similar to ROR release, except court officials have some level of concern that there may be a risk that the defendant’s appears at all court hearings. The defendant can be released, without bail, to an organization or individual, or placed into a pretrial release program – all of which increases the likelihood of showing up in court.
Surety bond – Defendants unable to afford to pay the entire amount of bail in cash will often seek the assistance of a bail bond company with a surety bond. Under the surety arrangement, the defendant pays 10 percent of the bail amount to the agent. The bail bond company then guarantees the entire amount of bail to the court, through a relationship with an insurance company. If the defendant doesn’t meet all bail obligations, the court will require the entire bail amount from the bail bond agent, who will then seek to recover that money from the defendant and any co-signer.
- How to Get Bail
A defendant will be brought to a local police station or county detention facility after being arrested. Once the booking process into jail has been completed, the defendant will be allowed to either to begin the bail process, often by calling a bail bond agent or a relative or friend for assistance.
- What Will Bail Cost
The main cost is involved with a surety bond. A bail bond company can charge a premium to clients in Wyoming – set at 10 percent – although bail bond companies can include charges for reasonable costs to clients. The advantage of a cash bond is that payment is made to the court, avoiding the premium that is paid to a bail bond agent.
- How Long Will I Stay in Jail
In no case will a defendant remain in jail more than 72 hours before an initial court appearance, under Wyoming law. In many cases, the process of being booked and posting bail will be completed in the same day. Delays are possible in larger facilities or when a defendant is arrested for a more serious crime that requires a bond hearing that may or may not be held the same day as the arrest. Also, a defendant who cannot afford the bail that is set in court can request a bond reduction hearing, which will add more time in jail and may or may not successfully change the amount of bail.
- What if I Miss a Court Appearance
Failure to appear in court is a separate crime in Wyoming, and the court will issue a bench warrant for the arrest of a defendant who violates any condition of bail. An attorney may be able to convince a court to reset the bail agreement. However, if that doesn’t happen, the bail is forfeited. The court will seek the full amount of a surety bond from the bail bond company, which in turn, will seek recovery of that money from a defendant and any co-signer.
This article is for informational purposes only. For legal advice, consult an attorney.